How to tow a RT-4WD?

How do i disengage the RT4WD on my USDM Civic Wagon RT4WD?

I found this tucked away and i thought i would share. I can't remember who made these images, but thanks!

Manual Transmission:

disengage-manual1.jpg

disengage-manual2.jpg

Automatic Transmission:

disengage-auto.jpg

Return to Drivetrain F.A.Q

Comments

• vtecn8ivevtecn8ive Senior Wagonist
    I may be acquiring a RT-4WD this weekend or next for somewhat cheap, only thing is I may have to tow it home. I have no experience towing 4wd or awd cars. I believe all wheels have to be off the ground right?

or could I put a tow bar on it and put it in neutral and pull it that way? all 4 wheels would be on the ground.

Just trying to plan ahead.

Thanks,
    Shane
  • there must be info on the inside of the
    sunvisor...there sumwhere

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4948

and...
    moving a car without using any part of it:
    e.g. on top of another car, trailer, dolly
    truck, helicopter, plain, submarine, boat
    etc. is always a safe option

: )

hmmm, i forgot rocket
  • White&NerdyWhite&Nerdy Senior Wagonist
    You can disconnect the rear wheels and tow it like a FWD car by flipping a switch on the transmission. It's different for standard and auto trans but both have this function.

A quick search should answer your question in no time. :P
  • If it's an automatic you really want to do your homework first. Maybe drop the driveshaft and rent a tow dolly.

If it's a manual and only a short distance I would drop the drive shaft and tow bar it. Maybe stop every now and then to see if there's anything strange happening or funny smells coming from it (like oil blowing all over the place).

There's a company called remco that is pretty much the authority on flat towing (from the RV world). They make all kinds of crazy stuff from driveshaft couplers to pumps that will lube the auto trans while it's being towed (toad for you RV people).