Advice needed! DOHC ZC or B16A or.....?

wagodizzlewagodizzle Council Member and EDM expert
Hey wagon brethren (and sisters).. my wagon currently sits without an engine, and I am contemplating which one to put in it.

Currently looking at two options, both of which I have wanted since like 2005 lol

-DOHC ZC

-B16A

Most likely both OBD-0.

I have never driven a ZC powered car so I have no experience there, however I have owned a B16A powered DA before which was fun.

Really right now it comes down to numbers, whether the extra $1200 or so to do a B16A swap is worth it in the short term/long term.

Or perhaps some other options? Not really looking for forced induction but willing to consider it in the distant future... Also I'd rather stay away from OBD-1/2 conversions, but again, willing to consider it.

Thoughts? Concerns? Comments?
:encouragement:

Comments

• HaydzHaydz Moderator
    Why do you want to stay away from the OBD1 conversion? You're already MPFI aren't you?
    B16A, boomslang harness, mount kit, whack rail, do work.

Get to it!
  • bkmc24bkmc24 Senior Wagonist
    What Haydz said. If you are 2WD, get away from D series. Nothing against them, but the B series market is was better and capable. And I hated my ZC, so I am a bit biased.
  • GriftyGrifty Wagonist
    B16 all day every day.

I've tried both and wouldn't hesitate at going B16 over ZC.
  • HaydzHaydz Moderator
    Corinthians 13:11 :P
  • bam-bambam-bam Council Member
    B. B20. You don't drive way up in the revs anyway, and that's where the B16 makes a little power.
  • wagodizzlewagodizzle Council Member and EDM expert
    Haydz wrote: »
    Why do you want to stay away from the OBD1 conversion? You're already MPFI aren't you?
    B16A, boomslang harness, mount kit, whack rail, do work.

Get to it!

Cost. Obd-1 B16s seem to be a solid $600-800 more or so.

Thats pretty much the only reason lol.

Looks to me the consensus is to stay away from the ZC haha