rt4wd swapped into ej1

Hey y'all, im a noob here and to wagon stuff. I built an ej1 coupe from a stripped shell and am now going back to the drawing board. I have a full rt4wd system ( tranny, drive shaft, rear diff, axles , trailing arms, gas tank , etc). I am wanting to convert my 94 ex coupe to rt4wd. I understand some things will have to be custom and I have experienced help for that. Any advice or ideas would be appreciated.

Comments

• I was once toldto build what I have and that's what im doing. I will post pictures and details of every aspect of this build so there have use of the knowledge I gain from this undertaking. We all love our Honda's
  • bam-bambam-bam Council Member
    Keep us posted on your progress. I don't remember seeing this done with an 'EG', but 'EF' hatches and CRXes have been. Seems to me that rear suspension crossmember, with its differential and control arm mounts would be the hardest part.
  • Will do, I do know that I will not be able to use the rear crossmember unless I cut out the existing crossmember and lower control arm brackets. I will be doing some cutting and welding and will make custom brackets for the rear diff as well as skid plates. I will have to make brackets for the drive shaft mounts and will be making a custom cable to hydro tranny conversion.
  • in the july 2011 issue of honda tuning there is a red 92-95 civic coupe they they converted to 4wd using rt4wd rear, and shortened drive shaft, and crv parts with an lsvtec. the company is epic tuning, i think it said they make mount kits for the rear but im not too sure.
  • Yeah I saw that, I am going na single cam (d16z6). Would be nice to find an S22 tranny.
  • bkmc24bkmc24 Senior Wagonist
    EpicTuning claimed they were going to make a kit, but never actually did, and were kind of huge assholes when I emailed them about it. The conversion doesn't seem too hard, but seems like a huge waste of time for NA single cam D IMO....good luck nonetheless.