Rt4wd from Australia

Sup Civic Wagon!

Name's Jacob, I'm 26 and I'm a HD diesel mechanic.

Mmmmmmk, so, I purchased this humble little car out the back Perth Australia roughly 12 weeks ago now. It's a Australian delivered ee3 rt4wd wagon, only 100 were ever imported between 88-89, something like 20 are accountable for now and the twin carb was the only engine option here in Aus. Sat in a driveway for 4 years being raped by the elements, went and had a look at it, nil start, offered them $350, they said they'd call back. Didn't hear anything for like a week, started kicking myself I didn't offer more, then they called out of the blue and said I could take it. YUUSSSSSS!

Anywho picked it up, trailered it back to mine, bypassed the immobiliser, threw a battery at it, bit of brake cleaner in the intake, BOOM it started. One of the floats was sticking, dribbling fuel everywhere, couple of knocks with the hammered and it went away. Everything worked! Lights, wipers, washer jets, brakes, even the electric sunroof 8-)

Unfortunately there was an issue with the motor (probably why it was parked up originally) and plus I don't do carby motors, too young missed the boat, whatever.

128.jpg

129.jpg

130.jpg

131.jpg

132.jpg

Read a bunch of stuff on the internet that the d16a8 / zc swaps straight in, no mods, same mounts and the 4wd bell housing hangs off the motor no dramas. So that's all the info I needed, straight back on gummie to look for a broken down CRX, and sure enough a wretched one was on there, local for $1000.

Rung the guy (kid) said he crashed it, threw a kit on it, didn't care about any of that my only concern was the running gear and he assured me it was sound. Went and had a look and this thing was terrible, I felt so sorry for it. Engine was cranking not starting, harness had been tampered with and he wouldn't budge on the price. Said "**** it" and bought in anyway, trailered it back and got to work trying to diagnose it.

133.jpg